Lots of Reading, PowerPoint, and Time in the Edit Room!

Hello from the editing room at the NYU Journalism School 🙂

I’m busy editing a video project for my class tonight, so I decided to update while I’m waiting for it to load to YouTube.

Monday came quick this week – I woke up this morning, early as usual, and was out the door by 8 am. I was in the elevator with three other interns this morning, all headed to 9 am start times. It’s funny to see more and more interns move in each week … and more and more professional attire in the elevators. I stuck with classic black & white polka dots this morning. (Dress from Ann Taylor Loft on sale).

The morning hours of work went by pretty quickly, although I was still waiting for my supervisor to show up around 10 am after I had been there for an hour and 15 minutes. I almost sent him an email when I noticed an auto-reply that he’d be out of the office today – so I guess that meant a laid-back day for me!

We haven’t gotten our long-term project in full yet, but I did spend a few hours in the afternoon putting together several PowerPoint slides using the company template so I’d get the hang of it rather quickly when the time came to make one.

I also got to look through our new issue – it’s so fun seeing it before it’s out on newsstands! I can’t give you any insider info though, that you’ll have to wait for and buy the copy when it’s available!

After reading a ton of info about Food Network Mag and their marketing team, it was time to pack up and head home. A relatively easy day, but I did learn a few things and got to be in the office so it was all positive 🙂 I’ll take as many hours there as I can get, even if it’s just watching everyone work.

I came home and made dinner, and then made my way to the editing department of the NYU Journalism School to finish up my first video project. It’s going well, although I’m not quite sure exactly what he expects of us. I’m brand-new to video editing so the final product will probably be pretty rough. I guess we all learn by doing things wrong in the beginning, right?

It’s almost time to head home – as soon as the video loads … it’s taking FOREVER! Tuesdays are my full days (half work/half class) and then I have a get together at a restaurant on the upper west side tomorrow night, so it will be quite a day!

—Meg Taylor
2 thoughts on “Lots of Reading, PowerPoint, and Time in the Edit Room!

  1. Meaghan,

    I am so proud of you for chasing your dreams in such a big, bold, fearless kind of way! You are the very embodiment of real. strong. women. You inspire me!

    axoxo.

    Marissa ('07 Theta PC)

    Like

Leave a Reply

