A Trip to SoHo, She’s The First HQ, & Mingling with Monique Coleman

I’m having another one of those ‘pinch me’ moments.

I woke up this morning and had to take a trip down to SoHo to the Apple Store to get my computer fixed 😦 I had problems with a blinking hard drive icon and the machine wouldn’t turn on for a while. They ended up fixing a cable in the computer … so it should be okay now, but I did have to spend a little money to fix it. Now I wish I would have gotten Apple Care back when I bought it. I guess it’s better than buying a new computer though – trying to look on the bright side!

After they fixed it, I got to walk around SoHo for a while (I can’t believe I hadn’t been there yet!). It was so quaint and chic, kind of like a Parisian street. I just casually passed a bunch of high-end boutiques and brunch spots on my way. I’ll definitely be going back there soon!

After I got back and had lunch, I made my way over to the She’s the First Headquarters for the afternoon! I was so excited to finally be in the office with a great role model & mentor, Tammy Tibbetts, and start my work with such an incredible and inspiring group of women 🙂 I’m excited to spend a lot of time in July/August at the office helping out in any way possible.

 

She’s the First is a not-for-profit that sponsors girls’ education in the developing world, helping them be the first in their families to graduate. In the process, She’s the First fosters leadership and self-awareness in young Americans, by inspiring them to lead creative fundraisers and correspond with sponsored students. (shesthefirst.org)

I’ll pretty much be doing whatever Tammy asks me to do throughout the course of the summer, but I’m sure I’ll be learning a LOT and I’m so happy to be involved in such a great cause. She’s the First is doing AWESOME things this summer – and I can’t wait to share some of our events and news! Stay tuned!
Today in the office, I did a little paper cutting and brainstorming for a Tumblr blog run by the She’s the First team. Hopefully I’ll be able to come up with some great, creative ideas soon. We have to show the world what a great organization it is!
After my time in the office, Tammy invited me to an Office Warming Party at DoSomething.org‘s (another non-profit org) new office location in the Flatiron Area. It was so much fun – and kind of my first test in networking! I had to meet and mingle with so many people I didn’t know, and I’m pretty proud of myself for being bubbly/outgoing (at least I think I was, haha). We just casually talked to MONIQUE COLEMAN for a while. 

I think I need to get over this whole star-struck thing. I’m meeting really important people all the time, it really shouldn’t be a huge deal. Okay … it will always be a huge deal to me. 🙂
I’m almost ready to hit the sheets – I have another long day tomorrow!
—Meg Taylor
Leave a Reply

