A Q & A With a Role Model – Bakerella (She’s Been on Martha Stewart!)

I’m excited to announce that I’m adding another interview to my collection! This time, I had the privilege of contacting baking blogger, Angie Dudley (aka Bakerella). If you’ve never visited her site – check it out when you have a minute! But not when you’re hungry or craving sweets … because she might just send you right to the kitchen to whip up a few cake pops! She’s also made countless press appearances (Martha Stewart, Woman’s Day, and brides.com just to name a few) and published her own ‘Cake Pop’ Recipe Book!

Photo Credit to http://www.bakerella.com/bye-2011

 Q: Where do you get your inspiration?

A: I get inspiration from all over. Holidays, seasons,  events … And candies … they inspire a lot of my cake pop designs. I’m always on the lookout for new sizes and shapes that could be used as ears or a nose or a bow.

Q: What are your kitchen essentials – what do you always have on hand?

A: I have a miniature metal spatula that I love; and I couldn’t live without my ice cream scoops, and of course lollipop sticks.

Q: What has been your most memorable press/TV experience?

Definitely when I was on Martha Stewart. It was the first time I had been on TV and it was just a few months after I started blogging. Needless to say I was a nervous wreck, but it was totally worth every butterfly in my stomach.

Q: Cute packaging seems to be your forte – any tips on where to find it?

A: I love packaging and if I can’t find something that I need in a cake supply or craft store, then I’ll make it myself. I enjoy creating templates for boxes and labels that fit with the sweets I’m making at the time.

A recent post for 4th of July – Photo Credit to http://www.bakerella.com/festive-for-the-fourth/
A recent post for 4th of July – Photo Credit to http://www.bakerella.com/festive-for-the-fourth/

Q: If you had to give one piece of advice to an aspiring college baker, what would it be?

A: I guess it depends on what you want to do, but my best advice would be to just bake something. Anything. Try new things. Don’t be intimidated by recipes or projects. Even if they don’t turn out the first time, you’ll learn something new with each attempt.

Leave a Reply

