A Gourmet Breakfast, Walking Over 6 Miles, and LOTTERY Broadway Tickets!

Whewwwwwww – seriously, what a day.

I woke up this morning and got ready for Day 2 of the Fashion Campus program I started last night. This morning, I went to the Parsons School of Design near Union Square for a ‘professional networking breakfast’ where top recruiters from companies like Calvin Klein and Armani were giving all of us (interns) words of advice and helpful information for entry level positions.

They provided an INCREDIBLE buffet breakfast (free of charge again, I might add) that included eggs, sausage, bagels, pastries, muffins, fresh fruit and tons of coffee/tea. I couldn’t resist the bran and cranberry mini muffins – and I’m always up for fresh fruit (especially since it’s so expensive in the city!).

I left the event around 11:45, even though it went until about 3 pm with various career breakout sessions, because I had to head down the lower east side to get video footage for my final video project at a Bike Bonanza event for kids. I stopped by a little farmers market there – but unfortunately, I was too full from breakfast to treat myself to the adorable treats and pastries lined up in tents for over a block!

After I gathered my video footage (they were giving out free bike helmets, swapping kids bikes, and teaching kids how to ride), I walked all the way up to my apartment – a little over 2 miles. It was a nice walk, and it was great to take advantage of the nice weather while I can.

After a quick stop at the apartment, I made my way up to Herald Square and did a little light shopping in Macy’s (but was too overwhelmed to even think about buying anything) and then went up to Times Square where I stopped in Loft, Forever 21 and Gap for a while. I also made my way through another market, which ran north from Times Square for about 6 blocks. They sure do love tent fairs in NY …

Around 6 pm, I met a friend at the theater of Peter and the Starcatcher (the prequel to Peter Pan) where we entered our name for lottery tickets. If you’ve never done it before (like me before tonight), they are kind of like rush tickets in that they don’t cost as much as full price box office tickets, but with lottery you enter your name about an hour before show time and then they only pick around 10 names. Usually, the chances aren’t that great seeing as how this is an incredible show and that most times over a hundred people enter.

I didn’t think it was possible, but I was actually the second one called to win LOTTERY TICKETS! My first time entering was a success! 🙂 After a quick dinner before the show, we took our seats in about the sixth row on the side. The show was incredible – seriously, I haven’t laughed that hard in a LONG time.  

Christian Borle, who recently won a Tony Award, was absolutely and breath-takingly funny. The female lead, Celia Keenan-Bolger, graduated from U of M (GO BLUE!) and was incredible as well. Luckily, we were able to snag both of them for a few photos and autographs after the show.

I was staring at this guy during the entire show, until it finally dawned on me that he was on Gossip Girl! So naturally I had to get a photo.

I highly reccommend the show if you can get tickets. Seriously, one of the best I’ve seen.

Well, it’s off to bed (sorry for the late post tonight!) – but I’m headed to the video lab tomorrow for most of the day. Hopefully, I’ll be able to knock out most of this video project!

—Meg Taylor
Leave a Reply

