Laughing Over Grilled Cheese and French Fries, Casual on the 35th Floor

So as cliche as it may sound, I truly believe that certain people are in our lives for a reason.

I woke up this morning with a renewed sense of energy and an eagerness to get back to the office. For some reason, it just feels nice being there. Kind of like I’m home – in a weird way. Feeling confident, I decided to wear a red, pleated polka-dot dress. You can’t put a more head-turning combo together than red and polka dots.

I also wore a new cream pashmina scarf with a longer jacket – it was only in the lower 70s today! I have to say, I do enjoy the breeze and the ability to wear a sweatshirt without sweating uncontrollably. It felt like early spring again!

I spent my morning doing some light research for our intern group project. I’m extremely excited about what my component may entail! I’m keeping it on the down low for now, but I will give you one hint – it involves PINTEREST!

At 10 am, we had a marketing meeting to discuss our event for this Wednesday and Thursday. We are handing out ice pops all around NYC, in collaboration with Clinique, to promote the new shades of their chubby stick lip gloss! Although I’ll only be working the food truck on Thursday morning, I’m excited to see the event finally executed. We’ve been planning it for a while and I’ve actually helped a little – so it’ll be great to see it all come together! Plus, we get to wear cute t-shirts. πŸ™‚

If you’re in New York City this week, keep an eye on our twitter (@foodnetmagpromo) or head to the FB event for more details on locations and times!

After the meeting, I made some test sheets with the FN Mag and Clinique logos on them for us to use to show the people at the event what the new shades of chubby stick lip gloss look like. I had to print and cut a ton of them!

Around 12:30, Gabby and I went down to the Hearst cafeteria for lunch πŸ™‚ Told you I’d let myself buy! I ended up with an incredible yogurt/granola/blueberry parfait, a cinnamon biscuit and a banana! For some reason, those three just kind of jumped out at me.

She probably doesn’t know this … but Gabby really made my day today. Just by being herself. And by asking me to lunch. And by laughing over grilled cheese and french fries. And by making me smile and take a step back. Seriously, I’m wound up so tightly sometimes. I just need a minute to breathe.

Don’t we all need to take a step back and breathe?

We both got pretty excited when we saw our event in the Hearst elevator coming back from lunch.


After a little more research in the afternoon hours, I left for home and went directly to the grocery store! In case you’re wondering what a grocery store looks like smack dab in the middle of the city – here’s one – the prices are high, the food is decent, and the selection is pretty awful.

Oh well, I guess they had what I needed. I stocked up on some of my sister’s favorites and essentials. (The only thing she requested was lucky charms and toast/jelly). I guess she’s pretty low-maintenance?

After putting the groceries away, I went back down to the video lab – but I told myself I was only going to stay until 9:30 pm – maximum! I ended up finishing what I wanted to finish by 8:40! I was in and out, and still smiling nonetheless.

Time for a shower and then an early night – big day tomorrow and an EXCITING post around lunch time! Check back for a mid-afternoon surprise! πŸ™‚

—Meg Taylor
Leave a Reply

