An Oprah Moment at Work and an Evening of Monday Night Magic in the Village

Monday morning once again … the weeks just seem to fly by here as weekdays drift into weekends and weekends into ‘next week.’

I woke up this morning and wanted to bring back one of my favorite ensembles (I always get several compliments ๐Ÿ™‚ ). You just can’t go wrong with black polka dots. I also added the blazer because I heard that is was supposed to cool down quite a bit.

I was right. It even started sprinkling on my way into work.

My morning was almost entirely spent researching and ordering cupcakes for a bunch of clients around the country. We are doing custom orders and having them delivered – which is actually quite the feat! We have to use a ton of different bakeries and the cupcakes must be custom cake/frosting/and topping combinations.

I got a lot of practice making phone calls, that’s for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

I also sent a few things via UPS and worked on my project.

It feels weird to be surfing Pinterest while I’m at work. Don’t worry – it’s warranted! My entire project is based on Pinterest and social media strategy, but I just feel like someone would judge me if they saw my computer on the Food Network Pinterest page (which is quite impressive, I may add).

Even though I munched at my desk all morning, I still took my lunch break with Gabby down at Cafe 57 (Hearst Cafeteria). We have fun laughing and looking at everyone’s outfit selections.

Mid-afternoon, a few of us took a field trip to Sur La Table (a gourmet, kitchen supply store) to pick up a few packages. They were all so beautifully wrapped, and when we got back to the office the marketing director had us arrange them in a tower so they looked like presents on Christmas morning!

And Christmas morning it was … she then invited us into the conference room about half an hour later and pulled an ‘Oprah’ moment. We all got to take a present to open and bring home! The gifts were to thank us for all of our help with the successful Clinique Chubby Stick campaign ๐Ÿ™‚

I ended up bringing home a Cuisinart Juicer – I can’t wait to make my own fresh lemonade and orange juice. That will make for a fun weekend adventure. Have any good, fresh juice recipes?

Later in the afternoon, the new marketing intern surprised me with a rich dessert. I ate some of the middle, but I’m a not a huge fan of chocolate so I left the top.

After I got home from work, I took a quick break and then took off for a ‘Monday Night Magic Show’ in Greenwich Village. I walked through Washington Square Park (down by NYU campus) on my way there. It was supposed to be somewhat of a field trip for my NYU class, although only three students came. There were several staff members and grad students there with us though.

The show was great – all of the acts were very different, well-planned, and entertaining. (Some of them were pretty funny, and a few tried a little too hard … but they are magicians, not comedians, so I’ll give them a little slack). It went on for quite a while though, I didn’t get home until 11 pm!

Off to bed! I have a big, long day tomorrow – and my LAST Tuesday class!

—Meg Taylor
Leave a Reply

