Learning Lessons from Sunday School Kids and Hiding From the Heat

Great news! I’ve hit over 5,000 page views this summer 🙂

I woke up this morning alone in my apartment … kind of a strange feeling, but kind of nice too? I do appreciate having my own bathroom and the freedom to play my music while I’m getting ready.

I woke up about 10 times this morning before I actually had to – I think it’s because I switched beds and now I’m closer to the sunlight from the window. First thing on my list for tomorrow after work: BUY DARK SHEETS to hang from the windows.

When I decided to get up for good, I got dressed and ready for church. I decided to walk over to the east side (it’s only about a mile) because I appreciate the morning walk and people watching. It’s fun to watch families brunching and people running in and out of Starbucks on every corner. I stopped at one myself to pick up a caramel iced coffee.

I got to church around 10:30 am, ready for my first experience volunteering in Journey Kidz – our church Sunday School program! Although I’m generally familiar with and comfortable around little kids, teaching them a bible lesson is a whole new challenge.

Another girl and I teamed up and had about 8 kids to look after for the 11:30 am service hour. I’m not going to lie and say it was a piece of cake, but it truly was so special and an experience that I’m so grateful for. The kids (preschoolers) were ADORABLE and I actually had fun dancing, jumping and singing with them.

It’s cool to think that kids this age truly don’t care what other people think of them. They’ll crawl on the floor and pretend to be an elephant just because it’s fun to do.

I think we can all learn a lesson from little kids. 
Life should be fun.
We should let ourselves dance and scream and run around sometimes … just because it’s fun.

I left that service energized and happy to have finally volunteered at church (my first time!). I’ve been wanting to for a while, but have kind of been bouncing between churches so it’s been quite the challenge. For some reason, it was super easy for me to get plugged in here. I’m already looking forward to my next trip to Journey Kidz.

I walked home after attending the next service, ate a late lunch and then settled in at my desk for the afternoon. I wanted to go out and about, but the heat kind of discouraged me and I had plenty of work to do indoors. I spent the entire afternoon researching for my Food Network project – hopefully I’ll go into the office tomorrow with a lot of great work done!

Now, I’m settling in and writing this post during the commercial breaks of Next Food Network Star. An early night for an early morning at work tomorrow! I think it’ll be pretty slow this week with the holiday coming up on Wednesday.

Until tomorrow!

—Meg Taylor
Leave a Reply

