Running From Hearst to She’s the First HQ (Cupcakes in Hand), an Interview with FOX NEWS, and Free Granola Bars in Union Square!

I’d like to preface tonight by saying how thankful I am for every single person who reads this blog. To hear that you enjoy my posts or look forward to reading every day truly makes my heart smile. It’s so nice to know that it’s actually reaching people and not just acting as a personal diary (although that’s great too!).

So right now … if you’re reading …  thank you. With all my heart, all my soul, and every ounce of success that I ever have/will have. I couldn’t do it without you.

And if we’ve never met, I’d love to hear from you! Feel free to shoot me an email anytime. I’m usually really good at responding 🙂 (meaghano@umich.edu)

So today was another one of those where-in-the-world-did-that-day-go kind of days. I feel like I did so much that it’s hard to even remember waking up this morning!

I wore one of my favorite tops this morning; it always makes me feel pretty and professional. I also wore white mid-length business pants. I know what you’re thinking … white pants. They’re actually some of my favorites and look really good on!

I got into work pretty early this morning and started to work on entering all of my research data for our restaurant project. That took over an hour but I finally got it all formatted. Now I’ll have to enter in everyone else’s submissions on Thursday morning – a lot of work, but fun too!

After that, I started to work more on our marketing project. Overall, it’s a lot of pulling from our existing files and combining into one master doc. It’s also fun because it involves PowerPoint, which I love.

I left work a little after eleven because I had to race down to She’s the First HQ for a full, eventful afternoon! (Everyone at FN Mag got a half day too 🙂 ) I carried my brownie cupcakes – see last night’s post – all the way to work and then all the way to STF.

When I got there, I was pleasantly surprised by our Bake Shop set-up. We’re hosting a bake shop all week in the building where the STF office is located, and we’re hoping to raise enough money to sponsor a girl in Uganda. We’d like to reach $300 by the end of the week and so far we’ve raised $142.40! Check out this link for my shout-out/thank you video with Jacki Bryk from FOX News!

More about FOX News … they came to the office today and filmed a segment with Tammy (Founder, President). She is truly an inspiration. I know I say this a lot – but hearing her talk about following her dreams and passions, and also leaving her dream job, and truly making a difference, and investing in so many young girls’ lives is just so powerful. I’m so lucky to be working alongside her this summer. I feel like she’s got a lot to teach me 🙂

After a few more STF afternoon projects, I made it home to do a few miles on the treadmill. After, I left quickly for my small group service time in Union Square. As a group, we passed out over 1,900 free granola bars tonight. Just with a smile and an invite card to church. I’m hoping we made at least one person’s day. Seeing some of their faces sure made mine. We stopped at Whole Foods after we were done just to hang out. I ordered a coffee and had fun talking and laughing with my group mates.

PS. If you’ve never tried these m & m’s … please go out and buy them right now. I challenge you NOT to eat the whole bag.

I walked home after Whole Foods – and now I’m exhausted! Fun plans for tomorrow’s 4th of July holiday are in the works (I think!). I’m crossing my finger for fireworks at night!

—Meg Taylor
One thought on “Running From Hearst to She’s the First HQ (Cupcakes in Hand), an Interview with FOX NEWS, and Free Granola Bars in Union Square!

Leave a Reply

