Free Flavored Coffee, Pinterest Research Break-Throughs, and an Evening with Animal Crackers

No matter how much sleep I get … it doesn’t feel like enough on Mondays. Until I get to the office and down a few cups of coffee. The fact that the little coffee machine in our office kitchen is free (and flavored) is very convenient. I hardly ever drink it at the apartment any more!

I woke up this morning and decided to pull out one of my favorite blue sweaters that I haven’t worn in a while. Yes, it was hot outside… but the office is always quite chilly, so wearing a sweater actually feels good. I was out the door by 8, a little too eager to get to the office bright and early.

Bright and early I was. The first one there. 🙂
I kind of just pretend I’m super busy catching up on work in the morning as people are walking in. Makes me look dedicated, I think.

The morning was pretty slow – quite a few people are off on vacation so it feels like the office is moving in slow motion right now. I did, however, organize a bunch of contest items for our winners in the marketing closet. It’s always so fun to see what I’m sending random readers around the country.

I also got a sneak peek of our upcoming KIDS ISSUE (so fun and cute, right?!). I can’t give you any details … but look for it on newsstands this fall!

In the late morning, I got a lot more research done for our main research project. I finished my review of several competitive magazines and then started putting all my research on Pinterest together into PowerPoint slides. I’m pretty much doing a competitive analysis of how a ton of magazines use Pinterest (both creatively and not) and what may work for Food Network Magazine. Because we are tied to the Network, we have to be very careful about our online/digital presence … but I’m trying to brainstorm ways we can be active on the site without actually having a profile. Sneaky, yes?

There have been some AWESOME marketing strategies and campaigns on Pinterest. Not just limited to magazine contests either. I’m talking Pinterest hacking, #pintermission, and “pinathons.” Yes, I love what I do. I’m so excited to present all of my findings to the entire staff in a few weeks!

After a lunch break in the cafe with Gabby (look, I bought almonds!), I spent the rest of the afternoon researching and organizing a pretty intense contest spreadsheet. I left the office around 5:30 pm (it was very slow at that point) and decided to walk home from work! Why? I have no clue. It wasn’t the best of walks. Very hot and sticky, but still nice to move my legs after a full day in front of the computer.

I got home, ate a quick dinner, and then decided to take the subway up to Bryant Park where I heard they were showing an outdoor movie. Apparently I got there a little too late (even though it was just after seven and the movie started after 8), because there was NO room on the grass whatsoever. Plan B- I walked up to Rockefeller Center to do a little shopping (I LOVE the J. Crew there) and walk past House Beautiful’s Kitchen of the Year set up right in the middle of the street! One day, I’ll be important enough to be invited to those kinds of cocktail events. Until then, I have to be content watching from afar in my Michigan workout gear.

Quick Sidenote – I did get a ‘GO BLUE’ walking on the sidewalk tonight in my hat. It feels good to have community wherever you go… it did make me a little homesick though.

I finished the night with a trip to Trader Joe’s for a few groceries. I do love it there, but the line is literally ALWAYS wrapped around the entire store. They even keep you waiting in a line outside the store before you get in because it’s a fire hazard with so many people inside. Apparently 8:30 pm on a Monday night is NOT a good time for grocery shopping. Who knew?

I’ve got a busy, fun and active Tuesday planned tomorrow! 🙂

—Meg Taylor
Leave a Reply

