What If You Could Meet Nigel Barker, Make Best Friends, and Play Kickball All in ONE DAY?

I think my knees might just fall off.

No, really. They just might.

Today was an excellent combination of work at Food Net Mag, speed-walking along Central Park to spy on a television shoot, time with She’s the First volunteers and a kickball game in Brooklyn … oh yeah, and throw ‘meet a celebrity’ in there too!

I woke up this morning ready to go (I even had time for a cup of coffee and a few minutes of Boy Meets World). I wore one of my favorite cream blouses … which didn’t seem to take very well to the heat later in the afternoon. Do you like the princess shoes to complete the outfit?

I got to the office in time to prepare for our morning marketing status meeting before anyone else got in. Don’t worry, I’m not there super early every day … just a few minutes πŸ™‚ I printed off all of our weekly hand-outs and laid them out for everyone in the conference room for our meeting (with the help of another, once he arrived). The meeting was short, since our Associate Publisher and Integrated Marketing Executive (my boss) is on vacation! After the meeting, I finished the rough draft of my Pinterest presentation and started sending out sweepstakes prizes.

I had A LOT of stuff to package and send out … I’m sure the mail room just loved me πŸ™‚ Look at all my nice, stacked packages ready to go out. That’s only just a few of them!

I left the office around 1 pm, a little later than anticipated on my ‘half day,’ and ran to the post office to pick up mail for She’s the First (woops, forgot to drop it off at the office now that I think about it!). After contemplating whether or not I wanted to go on a little adventure, I decided to go out on a whim and walk through Central Park to the other side near Barney’s (where I heard Gossip Girl may have been filming). Goodness knows I would do ANYTHING for a photo of Blake Lively or Leighton Meester. Unfortunately, I didn’t see anyone … although I did stumble on a road full of TV trailers and camera equipment. I think it may have been for a different program, but even so, no GG stars anywhere in sight.

After making a quick pit stop at the apartment, I made my way to She’s the First HQ, where I worked on and started a few small projects for Tammy. I’m excited to start helping with some of my creative Microsoft Word and PowerPoint skills – I told her I loved doing it, and that it didn’t feel like work at all! (Sad that I find it really fun?)

On my way home for a quick dinner, I casually bumped into NIGEL BARKER (aka incredible photographer and STAR, celebrity judge on America’s Next Top Model) in the middle of Madison Square. I bothered him for a quick photo, but he seemed happy to oblige – and even agreed in his adorable accent. I always think it’s so cool when celebrities are so nice to the little people!

After a stop at home, it was time for our first SHE’S THE FIRST KICKBALL CHALLENGE! We went over to Brooklyn to challenge a few interns from DoSomething.org in a nice, friendly game. We were all decked out in our blue tie-dye t-shirts (thanks, Christen), and some of us even wore warrior paint. And by that I mean stripes of pink makeup. We must have been a sight to see.

I’m so thankful for this incredible group of people. I continue to learn so much from them. I’m inspired by their courage and creativity. I’m encouraged by their willingness to get to know me. I’m blessed to have had this community and support system in a city that can easily swallow you up. I really don’t know what I would do without them.

On that ‘touching’ note, we ended up winning the game 13-10! Woohoo for Team ‘Icing’ πŸ™‚ I can’t wait for our next play date! I hope my knees feels better by then, I was kind of a lost cause tonight because it hurt like crazy to try to run. I think I contributed the most by live tweeting.

After the game, we all went to a local hangout – Spritzenhaus – to grab a drink, some french fries, and a couple games of Jenga. Note to self – Jenga is an AWESOME game to play while networking. Must try again soon. The place itself was awesome, a little taste of Brooklyn with a lot of character.

I rode the subway back with Kate (we were both EXHAUSTED) and enjoyed catching up with her. It’s so nice to know that there really are nice, caring, and kind-hearted people with good morals here looking for friends just like me. Kate truly has courage like I’ve never seen before. She’s pretty much dropping her whole life plan to chase her true passion – non-profit work. I’ll be there for you every step of the way, Kate!

Bedtime soon – I think I’ll be bouncing all around the city again tomorrow!

—Meg Taylor
One thought on “What If You Could Meet Nigel Barker, Make Best Friends, and Play Kickball All in ONE DAY?

Leave a Reply

