Preview for This Week, #STFSummit!

So what am I going to be up to this week that’s got me so excited?

I’m leaving tomorrow afternoon for what may possibly be the greatest 5 days I have ever experienced. My best friend, Julia, and I will be attending the #STFSummit, a two-day event sponsored by She’s the First and inspired by the UN International Day of the Girl. We’ll be hearing from the best of the best (including my role model and inspiration, Ann Shoket—Editor-in-Chief of Seventeen) who are leading the world in promoting the importance of girls’ education worldwide.

Why is this so important to me?

I’ve experienced, first-hand, the benefits of receiving a good education and have literally watched seemingly insurmountable doors open in front me, simply because of where I’ve had the privilege of attending school. I know, due to my involvement with She’s the First, the power and potential that lies in women around the world. You’ve heard me talk about how great the individuals are that I’ve worked with already, and these women only convince me even more that change is never impossible. WE are change.

Educating girls around the world will help break barriers, beat poverty, and change the lives of millions. 

I believe that with my whole heart.

And just in case you need a little more re-enforcement, this AWESOME video explains, in words, why it is so important … they way I try to explain with passion and commitment to She’s the First.

If that doesn’t convince you that educating girls should be our priority…

Stay tuned, it’s going to be a life-changing week— starting with trying to pack at 1 am tomorrow morning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

