#STFSummit Night 1 and FOOD NETWORK STARS!

I have to say… I was a bit nervous to come back to NYC.

Why?

I didn’t know if I would come here and suddenly feel out of place, like everything from this summer had drifted away into some distant memory…

And then I got here, and all of that went away.

The minute we came through the tunnel and started driving toward our hotel, I knew that I was coming home again. It’s a weird feeling—to feel so distinctively called to a certain place. It’s kind of surreal.

Kind of like I envision the next two days.

After our flight, we came straight to hotel, checked in, and changed in about 20 minutes to head uptown to our first event/night on the town! I was so excited to take Julia down into the same subway stop I used ALL summer and down some of the same very familiar streets.

Can you even believe how many knobs there are on the shower?! 

Almost like magic.

We arrived at The Lamb’s Club (a restaurant owned by Food Network Star and Iron Chef, Geoffrey Zakarian) and walked the room while stopping for a few very tasty appetizers 🙂

I got to introduce Julia to all of my co-workers from this summer and fellow interns (who were all SO happy that I made it!).

The entire night was like a dream. We treated ourselves to incredible food (Have you ever tried butternut squash soup?! It’s actually quite delicious), and even more incredible desserts (cheesecake, cinnamon sugar doughnuts, caramel coated popcorn). We also enjoyed a few yummy creations from the open bar 🙂

Then we MET THE STARS!

First, I snagged Anne Burrell for a photo (Secrets of a Restaurant Chef).

And then we grabbed Geoffrey Zakarian (Owner of The Lamb’s Club and IRON CHEF!)

And then I found JUSTIN WARNER (Winner of Next Food Network Star, and one of my faves!).

Last but not least, I managed to get a picture with Jeff Mauro (Sandwich King, Next Food Network Star).

We also had some fun at the photo booth 🙂

After the party, we made our way through Times Square to show Julia (it’s her FIRST TIME!) and back to the Flatiron Hotel!

At 10 pm, we all gathered for a short meeting to get prepped for tomorrow and Friday… and all I can say is that I am just SO excited to start! These people truly make me so excited and optimistic about the future of girls’ education. We CAN make a difference. We are GOING to make a difference.

Stay tuned, the next few days are going to be INSANE and packed with SO much She’s the First LOVE! I can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

