LOADS of Fun Colored Coffee and a Picture-Perfect Fall Day in NYC

So… I don’t have to leave, right?

Seriously, I started getting depressed about leaving and I still have an entire day left.
Julia and I started our morning at Irving Farm (as per recommendation of our host, Kaitlin)β€”one of the cutest bakeries/coffee shops I’ve been into in a while! It was kind of snuggled down on the bottom of a building on the Upper West Side, and was gorgeous and smelled SO good inside.
This is probably one of my favorite parts about the city… the bakeries πŸ™‚

Julia ordered a cheddar biscuit with a scrambled egg and I ordered cinnamon oatmeal and a cranberry walnut roll πŸ™‚

Oh, and a skim vanilla latte. It was BEAUTIFUL!

After breakfast, I camped out there for about an hour and a half for a Gimme Mo conference call (preview for TOMORROW’s POST!). After that, I hopped in a cab (yes, breaking my “no cab” rule since I had SO much luggage with me) and went over to the Upper East Side to drop my stuff at a Kate’s apartment. She has such a cute kitty named Jasper… and she is gone for the night so we get to hang out together πŸ™‚

Kate has as ADORABLE studio apartment near the East River. It’s been so fun to hang out here today, I feel so grown up on my own! Don’t worry Kate, I’m not moving in or anything πŸ™‚

Kate told me I’d like her neighborhood, but she wasn’t kidding! It’s gorgeous! So many cute shops, yet very residential so you definitely feel safe and away from the hustle a little bit. I went to the park near the river and was blown away by how pretty it is.

They were throwing a “fall fest” in the park this afternoon, so I got to watch the kids “pick pumpkins” and decorate them… someday Meaghan, someday.

After the park and the river, I ventured a little further into the city and found some “lunch.” And by lunch I mean frozen yogurt of course.

TIP: 16 HANDLES IS SO MUCH CHEAPER THAN PINKBERRY.
I’m serious. And it’s good. And more options!

I stuck with my classic vanilla, but the coffee did tempt me for a split second.

My day slowed a bit after that… I camped at Starbucks for about 4 hours to write a paper/midterm due when I get back 😦 I realized that I was really going to hate myself if I did no work while I was on this trip. So I declared the rest of the afternoon work time and then came home (after Subway for dinner) to tackle the second paper. I’m feeling SO much better now and should be able to focus on enjoying my last full day tomorrow stress-free πŸ™‚ Which is great because I have lots of plans!

The perks of hanging out at Starbucks long enough… they bring around free drinks like this pumpkin spice latte with pumpkin whipped cream πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

NIGHT! I’m sleeping soundly since I am EXHAUSTED!

Leave a Reply

