The Reason Behind a Smile…

If you’ve ever made someone smile, whether inside or out, you know how I feel when I say that there are few feelings that beat it. It’s an irreplaceable one, a feeling of worth and belonging… and a feeling that warms your soul through and through.

This morning, as I stood by the finish line of a Roosevelt Island 10k and watched my friend Tammy finish her race sponsoring girls’ education (in her neon shoes and bright yellow tank, I might add), I got that very feeling. Tammy, smiling ear-to-ear, lit up with excitement as she approached us and stretched out her hand for a high five.

Watching a stream of runners sprint to the finish, I felt inspired, motivated, proud and so happy for each and every one of them. I even started tearing up as a mother finished the race holding her two little girls’ hands for the last few steps. At that moment, I couldn’t have pictured a better way to spend my first Memorial Day Weekend in NYC.

(I might even consider signing up for a race of my own!)

Here’s Brooke & I sitting in our own designated “cheering section!” (Photo cred. to Erin!)


And this is Tammy finishing the race with her friend Rachel cheering on the sidelines (she ran too!).
After the race, a group of us went downtown to Shake Shack in Madison Square Park (epic!) for a post-race meal of shakes, burgers and fries! I ordered the “chicken dog” — so good — and stole a few of Tammy’s french fries 🙂
After lunch, we ended up stopping at She’s the First for a few minutes before eventually hitting Central Park for some reading and napping in the sun. It was absolutely gorgeous this afternoon! I think I got a little sun on my face and shoulders, if you can believe it!
Now to cover yesterday, an equally exciting and relaxing day! Liz, a friend from Michigan, and her parents stopped by the city for the day via Grand Central Station. I met them for lunch at a cute local diner on the Upper East Side after I went to church a few blocks away in the morning.
I ordered an awesome veggie omelette (loving brunch in this city!) and a ton of coffee 🙂
After lunch, we took a walk and ran into the Met and Central Park. Isn’t it funny how most days it seems like I’m drawn to Central Park almost like a magnet?
After walking a ton and stopping for afternoon cocktails on the Upper West Side, I said goodbye to Liz’s family and walked a few blocks uptown for my first babysitting job since coming back! The two boys I hung out with were absolutely adorable; I can’t wait to do it again! After they went to bed, I broke out my book and nail polish for a little pampering and ‘me’ time 🙂
I hope your weekend was full of smiles, laughter, love, friends & family. 
Now for a fun week full of … adventure?!
Leave a Reply

