Someone Pinch Me?

Hello! It’s been a while!

The truth is, the past three weeks have been some of the most surreal, exciting, intense and exhilarating few weeks of my life. I knew that starting a new job — my dream job — would be challenging… which is exactly why I braced myself for it 🙂

If you thought college was hard … I’ll let you in on a secret. “Real life,” as everyone calls it, is just a little bit harder.

In the real world, life looks completely different.

In the real world, you can’t let snooze get in the way of getting to work on time.

In the real world, you have to dress up & look cute … every day.

In the real world, you have to be focused and on your toes all day, not just when you feel up to it.

In the real world, you get home from work and all you want to do is eat and sleep.

BUT

In the real world, you can go out for margaritas and fried ice cream after work and call it “happy hour.”

In the real world, “recess” looks like a game of after-work kickball in Brooklyn with your co-workers!

In the real world, you often get paid for doing something you absolutely love.

I’m officially in the real world.

And that means I’m working hard, learning new things every day, and being challenged to perform to the best of my ability.

And I bet you’re dying to know what I think…

I love it; couldn’t be happier.

A few weeks ago, when it first hit me that thousands of girls across the country would kill to be in my shoes, I’ll be honest and say that my first thought was how incredibly lucky I’ve been. My second thought was how much pressure that kind of responsibility entails.

Regardless, this job is the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

My goal for the next few years? Take one day at a time, stay humble & true to myself, and figure out what it means to be twenty, working and living in the most beautiful city on Earth.

Stay tuned, I have a feeling this may start getting even more exciting.

Leave a Reply

