What If Five Promises Could Change Your Life?

Today I’m making a few big promises… in front of you all, so that I can be held accountable for keeping them. These promises are mostly a way to ensure that my twenties are full of happiness, love, friendship, family & lots of good food, but they’re also a way to challenge myself to reach further, exercise harder, and appreciate the little moments that often go unnoticed.

First & foremost, I vow to make the most of every opportunity I get to spend time with friends and family.

This past weekend, I was lucky enough to visit my college roommate, Audrey, and her family in Boston, MA. They were such incredible hosts, and my time there was a much-needed retreat from the busyness of everyday, working life. We spent time touring downtown, strolled along the historic Newbury Street, ate sweet potato flatbread pizza in Harvard Square, and watched an INCREDIBLE fireworks show from the banks of the Charles River… while also lounging at the MIT Sailing Club Boathouse.

I’d say it was a near perfect weekend.

Audrey’s family made me feel right at home from the moment I stepped in the door, and I had so much fun catching up with a girl who always knows how to make me laugh and show me a good time 🙂

As a side note, if you ever get the chance to visit Boston or Cambridge (i.e. Harvard), DO IT! It’s such a charming city, full of fun and energetic people who love food, baseball and history. Oh, and don’t forget to take the Duck Boat Tour for the full experience!

Secondly, I vow to make exercise (and running) a priority.

This morning, I joined two other co-workers from Seventeen as well as a few friends from She’s the First to run in my first-ever 5k (over 3 miles!!). After an early wake-up call, I met my friends in Union Square before we ventured to Brooklyn for the Color Run! We finished in just over 30min and were drenched in fun colors by the time we crossed the finish line and raced to the celebration stage (with free greek yogurt popsicles and KIND bars in hand!).

It felt incredible to cross the finish line, knowing that running a race has been on my bucket list for a very long time. This was such a fun race to start with, and I’m excited to keep pushing myself to run a 10k in the future!

I also vow to wake up every morning recognizing not only how insanely lucky I am to be living my dream, but also how hard I’ve worked to get here. Some may say a job is simply a job, but I truly believe that I ended up where I did because I have a story that needs to be told and a difference to make. Now all that’s left is to figure out what that difference is going to look like.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve gotten a bit lazy over the past few weeks when it comes to prepping food for dinner after work. I’ve also started settling for chain restaurants and dull flavors, simply because they’re more convenient and/or cheaper options. But now, I vow to start appreciating food and flavor again.

… Starting with tonight! On the menu was a chicken burger stuffed with spinach and mozzarella with a steamed sweet potato on the side. I can’t promise I’ll be cooking like this every night, but I promise to start exploring the fresh produce section of the grocery store and appreciating local flavor more often than my favorite Chipotle burrito.

And lastly, I vow to never take advantage of that “head over heels” feeling that makes me smile in disbelief every time I realize that New York City is my home… because that feeling makes everything worth it.

Leave a Reply

