Not a "Runner?" Read This!

I’ve never been a runner.
Nor do I classify myself as one now.

But lately, I have been doing a lot of “running.”


Photo Cred: Erin Leigh Patterson


I’m not going to lie and say I love it.

But what I will tell you, is that I don’t hate it.
In fact, it’s almost fun.

Although some may scoff (how can anyone like to run!), this isn’t some PSA for working out or jogging, I promise.

But if you’ve never given running a shot (like me!), I’d encourage you to lace up your shoes sometime soon. Even if that means simply running down the block.


Just run somewhere.


Because, it’s kind of strange.

Something changes in me when I run.

Sure, most times I feel like collapsing in the grass and calling it quits (that mandatory “stretching” break, anyone?!).

But other times, I feel untouchable.

Like my body is suddenly capable than so much more than I give myself credit for.

Like I’m powerfulstrong, and independent… in a new way. Like I’m using new muscles. Like I’m suddenly part of a new community.

And it feels great.

Especially when you run with friends who are just crazy enough to start their morning (as the sun rises) with a 3-mile loop in Central Park. My running coach (+ good friend!) told me on a run the other day… “It doesn’t matter how fast you go, or if you’re even running the entire time, as long as you feel good, that’s all that matters.”

And hey, the endorphin kick doesn’t hurt either.
Run with me?

XOXO
Meg
Leave a Reply

